That Time I Signed Up For A Triathlon…

It wasn’t even my idea. As a matter of fact, the thought of participating in a triathlon didn’t even sound appealing to me. I can’t remember if it was driven by fear, or if it was because I thought I would be venturing out into the unknown realm of multiple-event races, or simply because I have no faith in my swimming abilities…or lack thereof. But when opportunity was presented to me, I took it and ran with it; primarily because the distances seemed right on the money. A 300-meter pool swim, a 14.5 mile bike ride, and a 3.1 mile run? Count me in!

What first excited me, though, was the thought of having a huge group of my friends and I, dive head first (literally) into this athletic feat together, through the training and through the finish line. Although now, it has turned into a somewhat lonely adventure. The only person who I was able to coerce into signing up with me was Stephen, but he doesn’t have much of a choice he loves me. So my official training buddy isn’t even in the same county as me on a regular basis.

I’ve been trying my hardest to recruit more people into joining me on this whim of an idea, mostly because I believe that there’s nothing to lose, and also because I know that it is possible for anyone who actually wants to complete it and is willing to put their mind to it. Signing up for a race, training for it properly, and completing it, especially when you’re slightly nervous or doubting yourself, is one of the most liberating and exciting feelings. Or is that just me?

 

(If I looked that good, I'd probably rip my shirt off too)

The human body is adaptable. It WILL do what you ask it to do…eventually. Obviously, training needs to take place. But for weirdoes like me, training it part of the fun. I love writing down the distances I’ve covered, whether it’s on foot, on the bike, or as of tomorrow: in the water. I love when I know that I can push my body because it’s ready to go faster or farther.

I’m lucky to have some swimming buddies to join me in the pool tomorrow, and maybe that’s all I need to get used to the pool here at school (I’ve never used it before, eeek!), or maybe I can talk them into swimming with me on a regular basis!

 

I don’t care if it takes me all day to cross that finish line, because I do know that I will cross it- eventually.  Just one more race under my belt to prove that I can do whatever I put my mind to; something that I wish everyone would come to realize in their own life, not only relating to fitness and exercise, but in all facets of their life.

Conversate! =)

