Distance, &Blisters, &Hills, Oh My! (or, the intro post)

Apparently I was slow on the up-take of an intro post, so, better late than never, here it is!

Christina (lovingly referred to as Teen)
Running and I started our long-term relationship in the Fall of 2010. Our long-term relationship gave new meaning to the term “long distance” and I’m proud to say that it’s one of my favorite long distance relationships =)

Running and I didn’t always like each other. In fact, there was a point in which Running caused me so much pain, that we almost called it quits for good. In the fall of 2009, Running left me high and dry with shin splints, stress fractures, and a broken heart. I wanted to run, but my body just wasn’t having it. I forgot how I rekindled the love, but things got really serious again in February 2011 when the idea of going on a date with Running at the Illinois Marathon Relay became the plan. I guess you could say the rest is history, but it’s also a lot of cussing, blisters, water, and lots and lots of sexy sweat. Although Running sometimes still leaves me in pain, left all alone to talk myself out of my funk, it always leaves me wanting more. More distance. More hills. More sweat. More blisters.

Running has also learned to coexist with my original love, Weights. Running and Weights have come to coexist quite happily within my life and schedule (with the exception of the times when Running happens after lower-body Weights…this combination is always a bad, bad, bad idea) Weights and I are actually in a much more healthy, balanced relationship that involves minimal cussing and less blisters. However, Running has opened up so many doors for me. The realm of races (two 5K’s and one leg of a relay, so far!) is one of the most fulfilling, liberating, and addictive things I’ve ever done.

Follow me on my journey to continue to push my body through more distance, more hills, more sweat, and more blisters. And all of the stuff that happens in between =)
2 thoughts on “Distance, &Blisters, &Hills, Oh My! (or, the intro post)

  1. Hi …. So I have a quick question , how did you ever get rid of shin splints? I’ve had them since mid march and I am trying to train for my first marathon !! Any tips ?!

    • There’s a lot of factors that go into shin splints- why they’re happening, how to treat them, and how to avoid them in the future.
      First thing’s first- how are your shoes? How old are they and about how many miles do you have on them? If there’s a good 300miles or more on them- you may need new shoes!!
      No matter how new or old or awesome your shoes are, I always, always recommend buying inserts/orthotics for your running shoes. Go to your local running store and ask someone there which insert is best for your foot- everyone is different!
      Stretch the heck out of your calves and achilles tendons. If you need stretching ideas, I can definitely give you some!
      Ice your shins- twice a day, 15min each time. Try to reduce heel striking, or landing hard on your heel when you run- try to run more flat-footed or on your mid-foot.

      For now, while you’re experiencing pain, scale back your mileage, cross-train with low impact stuff like the elliptical, bike, or swimming, but continue to ice and stretch your lower leg! Try compression socks while you sleep and while you run- they’re kind of pricey, and I’ve never tried them myself, but I’ve heard they work wonders!!

      I hope this helps a bit! This is what I did when I was suffering from shin splints- but ask your doctor for clarification if it gets worse!

      Let me know if you have anymore questions!

Conversate! =)

