Love carries me

A couple days ago I was sitting in my room all ready to get started on my HW, notes and book laid out and all. I was ready to do some serious damage to whatever that assignment was. Yeah…it didn’t get done at that point, because something wonderful happened instead: one of my housemates asked me if I’d like to go running with her. “YES!” was what I wanted to instantly yell out, but I didn’t. Now, knowing that she’s a runner, something like this came out instead: “Yea, I’ll go. Just note that I haven’t ran in a few weeks and I might be lagging behind you.” She was understanding, but still assured me that she wanted to run with me. 10 minutes later we were out the door.

She’s a great running partner. She stuck with me throughout the solid 23 minutes we ran and together we kept each other from stopping in the warmness of the day. We ran a faster pace then I am accustomed to for longer distances, but regardless we talked a bit at the beginning when I could still control my breathing correctly. Toward the end, I started to remember why I run with headphones and listen to music, it’s so I don’t hear myself panting. I had been wearing my right headphone the entire run and slightly paying attention to my calming music, which helps me pace myself from taking off in sprints, but it wasn’t until the last 3 minutes of our run that I actually heard the lyrics coming from that headphone. The song I was listening to at that time was entitled ‘1st Corinthians 13’ so, as you are probably familiar with it’s was about love. Some of the lyrics go like this: “Love, hopes all things. Love, believes. Love, it bears all things. Your love it never fails. Never fails my heart. I need Your love. I need Your love sweet God, I need You.”

At that point when we were only blocks from our house, when I was ready to stop because of the heat, I was captured by the lyrics. I realized it is not by my own strength that I am capable of doing anything. Running included. Love is what is constantly carrying me. I need the very thing that “always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres, never fails” (1 Corinthians 13:7-8a). I need love. God is Love. 

Conversate! =)

