The Las Vegas Diet, Part II

(In case you missed it, part I is here)


The number on the scale is misleading, frustrating, and at the end of the day- it’s stupid. One day I’ll be 5 pounds more than what I thought, and the next day I’ve lost that 5 pounds and then 2 more! This is a dangerous, vicious cycle that I try really hard not to get caught up in.

I do own a scale and I do weigh myself, but I try and keep it to a minimum so that the number on the scale does not consume me or define me or define my day. Before I left for Australia, this was very much-so the case. I’d weigh myself first thing in the morning- if it wasn’t a number that I wanted to see, the rest of my day was automatically ruined. Being in Australia with no scale temporarily freed me of that. However, now more than ever, the number on the scale is useless for me. I’m back to lifting weights (none of this 2 pound, 5 pound “weight-lifting”, I’m talking real, heavy, weight lifting. The kind that challenges your muscles and changes your body. Go here for a quick read if you don’t believe me) which means that my body composition is definitely changing, but those changes may or may not be reflected back to me on the scale alone.

To keep track of my progress, I’ve decided to keep track of my measurements. This may sound kind of extreme or obsessive to some of you- but this is actually probably the most accurate way to gauge any real changes in my body, one step below actually getting my body fat assessed. I’ve been thinking about going to actually get that done assuming that my school still offers it for free on random days at the gym.

I’ve been diligently tracking my workouts by writing down how fast my runs are, how far I bike, how far I swim, and how much I lift. On days when I’m focusing on cardio, I make sure to make some sort of improvement: whether or not that means running farther or faster, or running the same time and distance as before but feeling less like dying. What I’m most impressed with are the improvements in my strength training.

When I started my new routine back in August, I was squatting around 94 pounds. I am now squatting 160. I think the 94 pounds was a bit modest at first, but I didn’t want to hurt myself. I tried to put up 180 (which is what I used to squat *between 180-200* when I was a gymnast back in the day) and I’m pretty sure I tore my hamstrings straight off their bones- NOT kidding. So I immediately dropped down in weight, and in less than 4 weeks, I’ve gone up 66 pounds! I am definitely proud of that. On the calf machine, I was only pushing 160, and now I’m pushing 260. So in less than 4 weeks, I’ve gone up 100 pounds! I am impressed with myself- and that is what drives me- the fact that I have concrete proof, written in ink on paper, that my body is getting stronger and my workouts are effective! I was curling 10 pounds for my biceps and I’m now curling 17.5!  7.5 pounds doesn’t sound nearly as impressive as 100 pounds, but my little biceps won’t ever be able to curl 100 pounds even with decades of training- so I am proud of my 7.5 pound increase!!

Back when we first started running, I told Mayra: “look at me. I’m built for strength and power. Not speed and endurance.” And apparently, that is so, so true.

Now this is when I finally bring everything full circle!
The Las Vegas Diet!

I diligently plan my workouts. I make sure that I get my ass to the gym every single day that I have it written down in my planner, which is 6 days out of the week. I skip class if I have to, I wake up at 5:45 if I have to. The gym is my sanctuary and my workouts are sacred to me. (I am being dead serious when I say this. When I was in Sydney, I went to the gym with my now-good friend, Matt. And he kept asking me: “why do you keep smiling!?” and I kept answering with: “isn’t this fun!? aren’t you having fun!? this is great! lifting is great! i love being at the gym! and then went on to explain to him that when I’m working out, I feel happy and complete. call me crazy.)

I am, however, unsatisfied with the way my body looks. Based on the 80/10/10 ratio, this means I need to get my sh*t together and clean my eating up. I would say that I’ve been doing a pretty good job of this over the past few months or so- hence the 20 pounds off my body, but with Vegas around the corner, I really want to clean up my eating and see how far I can get in these 25 24 days!

I don’t have a rigid plan of action. I think that if I give myself specific guidelines as far as “don’t eat this or that!” that I’m setting myself up for disappointment and failure. Instead, I think that if I keep track of what I eat by posting it on here, as well as my workouts and progress (measurements, etc) that I’ll do just fine! I know what makes me feel good when I eat, I know what my body needs to run and feel it’s best and look it’s best. I just need to DO it and stick to it.

One thing for sure is that I want to give myself at least one “free” day where I can go out for some drinks or chicken wings or whatever the hell I want. Most realistic “diet” plans factor something like this in there that I think is vital for success.

Again, this is not an actual diet. I don’t believe in diets or any get-slim-quick remedies or schemes. I don’t think anybody should buy into things like that. But after finding and reading other healthy living blogs (currently obsessed with: Megan,
Gina, Mama Pea, and Angela and their food!!) and I’m inspired now, more than ever, to get the sh*t out of my diet and get this thing going. I hope to prepare and cook a majority of my food similar to those lovely ladies, as well as follow recipes out of healthy cookbooks and other blogs that I also love and religiously read =)

So, stick with me as I inevitably complain about what I wanted to eat but what I ate instead. We’ll see where I end up in 25 24 days!
I will post most of my food, more in-depth of my workouts, and my progress to help keep myself accountable. Maybe some of you can join in on the fun and we can do this together =)

I read *this* today on Tina’s blog and it made me smile and tear up at the same time. I printed it out and hung it on my fridge for inspiration and encouragement.
*I would rather look like I work for my body than starve for it.*
*My workouts are not social time…it’s time to get alone with my thoughts.*
*Change begets change.*
*My body deserves respect. It deserves care.*
Such beautiful, true, and inspiring words!

  • What’s something inspiring you’ve read lately?
  • Anything you’re trying to look & feel your best for?
4 thoughts on “The Las Vegas Diet, Part II

  1. Thanks for the love! And I adore your attitude about all this. It sounds like a very solid plan. It’s so true that the eating plays a big factor in physical progress (and how kick butt our workouts can be), but it should still be fun and enjoyable too. You’ll do great!

  2. Pingback: Fingers crossed. « whatevertheroute

  3. Pingback: No Moose « whatevertheroute

Conversate! =)

