Monkey Helmet.

It has been quite the crazy past couple of days!
I have, for the most part, finally kicked my cold. I haven’t worked out yet, but that’s going to happen today.
I got up at 5:45am ready to get back on track, but once I realized how cold it was outside I figured that riding my back and having all of that freezing wind all up in my lungs might not be a good idea. Since I have a relatively free afternoon, I’m going to work out then =)

The triathlon is this Sunday! 6 days away!
I’m ridiculously excited though! But definitely nervous as well. I have no idea what to expect.
With running races, all you do is run.
There are no transitions, no costume changes, no fancy equipment, just you, the road, the route, and your shoes. Done and done.

There are transition areas between each event.
So, we swim first, then we get out and head to transition area one where our bikes will already be (we drop them off before we line up to swim). I guess most people just strip down in the transition tents in order to change out of their wet stuff and into their biking/running gear. For me, this brings great amounts of anxiety. I don’t like to be looked as it is, let alone looked at when I’m ass naked. Nothankyou. So after consulting one of my experienced, (&beautiful!) friends Jennifer, she said just go for comfort and change in the locker rooms so that I can really dry off and not be uncomfortable the rest of the morning. Good idea!!
I’m not really looking to finish in any sort of awesome time. Even if I tried as hard as I could, I wouldn’t come anywhere NEAR qualifying for my age group 20-24. Not this time at least 😉

The good triathletes waste next to no time transitioning. Their bike shoes are already clipped into their bike and they’ll clip in while riding. They have on tri-suites so they don’t even have to change clothes between events. They pee while they run. All that intense, good stuff.

I,on the other hand, don’t own a tri-suite. Hell, I don’t even own a tri-bike. Stephen and I have our Mountain Bikes (our ONLY bikes) ready to rock and roll. Helmets are mandatory… so although I found this beauty at Target this weekend:


[ It was $20something. Not really in my budget right now so we went for simple, silver helmets for less than $10.
If it turns out we LOVE triathlons and are good at them and want to do more and more and more, I’ll go ahead and splurge for the fun helmets. ]

Being soaking wet for the bike ride has posed some interesting scenarios in my head. Wet hair on my back while I’m riding in the wind? Not fun. I definitely would rather spend some time towel-drying everything off and ride in comfort instead of be miserable.  I am beyond excited for Sunday! I love race day. The adrenalin, the crowds, the sidelines, everything. 🙂 love it.

In other news: Vegas- 16 days.
After coming up with a solid plan of action, my immune system decided to stop doing its job and I got sick. 100+ fevers are not funny and definitely are not conducive to any sort of physical activity and diet. Although I ate a bag of Salt and Vinegar chips (still don’t regret it! haha it made me feel SO MUCH BETTER that day!) I didn’t fall off the wagon by any means. However, 16 days really doesn’t leave me all that much time to see any sort of results. Although I’m not looking for the scale to move in any way, like I said- since my strength-training routine really won’t leave too much room for that- I have been meaning to take my measurements and see what’s going on.

I measured myself back in August within the first week of school because I knew that I wanted to start seriously lifting again and progress with weight lifting is always best assessed by measurements instead of the scale. So I’ll have to do a follow-up measurement sometime this week and then again next week and then once before Vegas, just to see if I can beast out any real progress.

The workout plan for today:
bike 10 miles, run 2 miles, lift lower body, and swim some laps.
I should probably bring a Gatorade (or 2) because I don’t think water is going to refuel my body well enough for a 2+ hour workout.
I actually hate drinking anything but water during my workouts, especially since Gatorade is to sweet and artificial tasting, but I think it will help me push through my swim since I know my body will be tired.

Food:
Last night I made dinner/lunch for the week in my Crock Pot (I’m in love with that thing.)
I made Acorn Squash Chili =)
In the pot was:
1/2 Acorn Squash
Kidney Beans (1 can)
Lentils (~1 cup)
(~1 cup water for the lentils to soak up)
1 carrot
1/2 onion
diced tomatoes (1 can)
corn (1/2 can)
Hot Sauce
Liquid Smoke
Paprika
Chili Powder
Oregano

Put all ingredients (except corn) into the crock pot and let it sit on low for 8 hours. Then add the corn and let sit for another 1/2 hour. Stir before serving!
If you don’t have a crock pot, I’m sure you can put all the ingredients into a big pot and let it simmer for a few hours until the lentils, squash, and carrots are  nice and soft.

I tasted some of it last night and it was delicious, except I didn’t put in nearly enough hot sauce so I’m going to heat it up today with a bit of chopped up Jalapeno and probably serve it over some brown rice. You can’t have chili without rice!
1 cup of this stuff has less than 200 calories (excluding the rice) and there’s a lot of protein from the beans so it will definitely fill you up for a while! I’m excited to go home for lunch and have a big bowl.

2 thoughts on “Monkey Helmet.

Conversate! =)

