November Goals

This brought a tear to my eye. I love it.

Well, somehow, another month has come and gone.
I just looked back at my goals for October, and although I didn’t really do all of the things I said I would, October was a pretty good month over all, not just focusing on the fitness and eating-right components.

The first weekend of October opened with the Triathlon! That feels like FOREVER ago.

 

The following weekend was the Chicago Marathon.

The weekend after that we went to Vegas.


T
he weekend after that I celebrated my best friend’s 22nd birthday!

And this past weekend, I cheered on Yessenia and Mayra at their race!

October was jam-packed with events and fun, but it still didn’t “fly by” as most fun things are supposed to…
This month was definitely a month to remember, but I definitely have a lot of things to work on and things that I would like to change.
Without getting into too much detail, I really, really, really would like to incorporate the quote pasted in the top of this post into my every day life. I want that to be my mentality, all day, every day.
It’s not like I’m out of the ordinary or weird when I say this, but I have a horrible habit of picking myself apart whenever I “mess up” or have a “bad day”, and I fail to recognize and reward myself for all of the things that I do right or well.
If I have a bad run, I let it affect the rest of my day, my mood, everything. I even let if affect my next run before it even happens. I feel defeated. One, stupid bad run and I want to never run again. I recite, over and over in my head, how much I suck at running, how much I hate running, etc etc etc.
If I eat “too much” one day, I tell myself I need to run more. Then I remember that I am the world’s worst runner, and so cycle continues. See? It’s awful.
I’m aware that it is a problem and I recognize that I need to change that way of thinking…. so that is step 1.

The other part of the quote that really speaks to me is this: “if anyone hates on you because you are happy with yourself, you stick your middle finger in the air and say screw it.” Although, if I had it my way, the quote would read “you stick your middle finger in the air and say FUCK YOU”, but ya know- that’s just me.
All too often this month, the entire month actually, I let somebody affect me negatively just because they don’t like me. And you know what? I’m over it.
It’s not my personal problem that this person was raised to be one of the most spoiled, self-centered, stuck-up, inconsiderate, vain, and ABSOLUTELY USLESS people that I know. IT. IS NOT. MY. PROBLEM! I have to let it go.
I have to accept the fact that no, I cannot punch this person repeatedly in the face until I get the satisfaction knowing that they will need to get their jaw wired shut and not be able to speak for months. (But seriously, do you understand how absolutely beautiful that would be for me!?)
I have to accept the fact that I might be stuck associating with this person for a very long time, through no choice of my own.
But I also have to be true to myself. I am not quiet. I am not a door-mat. I do not let anyone walk all over me or treat me like shit. So in an effort to self-preserve myself, to stand up for what I believe in and stand up for myself, I will no longer stay quiet in hopes to not “stir the pot” or feed the fire. Although I’m not going to intentionally start problems, I will no longer tolerate the bullshit that inevitably comes with dealing with this person. I will not.
So if I stick to any of the goals that I have for myself for November, I will stick to this goal: don’t put up with anyone’s bullshit.
This is easy to follow, seeing as the people I deal with don’t give me bullshit and the ones who do are made aware, quite quickly, that it ain’t gonna fly with me. But from this month forward, I am DONE being made a fool of.

Sorry for the tangent, I’ll move on…

Other Goals For November:
-Continue to be mindful of what I eat
. Only 24 days until Thanksgiving! Which means I have 24 days until my first “deadline”. I mentioned in another post that I am breaking my “measurement goals” into three parts. I would like not to feel or look like a moose for Thanksgiving (part 1), Christmas and my Birthday (part 2), and Europe (part 3).

 -Continue to lift heavy weights at least 3x’s/week: I did a fantastic job of lifting during the month of October. I’m not really a fan of taking pictures of myself, (actually, it makes me kind of nauseous thinking about doing that) so I’m not sure what my “muscles” looked like before this month, but I can see a noticeable difference in my shoulders. I’ve made my way up to being able to shoulder press 22.5 pounds! So that is a definite, concrete improvement in my strength! I can also curl 20 pounds for my biceps more than 8x’s which is what I was working towards this month and I can do it =)

Somehow, if at all possible, rekindle my love for running.  If this means take a week, or two weeks, or even a month off from running, then so be it. I have a 10K this Sunday and I am STILL dreading it. I had a 5 mile run planned for today but I am physically and mentally drained. I feel like I have nothing left in me and it’s only 1pm on a Monday- no bueno! In an effort not to make myself want to cry, I think I’ll skip out on my run for today. I just can’t bring myself to do it. For the rest of November, though, with no race deadline in site, I will run whenever the hell I want. And that, in itself, feels damn good to say. =)

– Try to be happy with wherever I am. Stop wishing my days away. I’m stuck at school for 194 more days, might as well try to have some fun.
-Seriously, get down to business and just finish scrap booking Australia already!!!!!
– Be in bed by 10pm every night, at least on week days. My bedtime has slowly been getting later and later. Last night I didn’t get in bed until 11:15! This is so late for me. And I am definitely DRAGGING today.
-Incorporate circuit training into my workouts, at least 1x/wk but aim for 2x/wk.!! Especially if I won’t be dedicated hours and miles to running, I want to spice up my workout and incorporate some sweaty circuit training workouts. Let me clarify: I am sick of running distances. I ran some Tabata Intervals this week at the gym, and it was a gloriously hard, and sweaty workout. My legs were sore for 3 days because I paired the intervals with lots of squats and other lower body workouts, and I loved it. I’m going to try and do this at least once a week, twice if I can!

I think those are all of my goals for November!
Happy Halloween!!!

Conversate! =)

