Re-focus

Sometimes life overwhelms you and lose track of your goals, you know?
It happens.
But I’m trying to re-focus and get everything back on track.

Before you know it, you’ve finished a bottle of wine and an entire bag of popcorn, it’s almost midnight, and not only are you exhausted, but you feel like shit. Mostly because there’s no more wine (always a tragedy) but because you just ate a whole entire bag of popcorn! What the hell.

I had big, big plans to run 5 miles around campus this morning but it was literally freezing outside. (Yes, literally. The wind chill was below 26*) At 6am, it was exactly what I wanted- to crawl back under the covers and snuggle back up with my heavenly  mattress. When I woke up at 8 for class, I felt like an ass clown for skipping my run. This inner-conflict happens every day. And it is exhausting.

I lifted yesterday, but skipped the cardio again.
I’m a little sore this morning, but not nearly as sore as I was when I did this workout last week- am I really adapting that quickly? I doubt it. Who knows.

I’m looking forward to going home for Thanksgiving break tomorrow! I’m going to really focus on falling in love with running again. I think I might find myself refreshed to run around Brookfield instead of running here in Champaign or around the god-awful track at the gym. I feel like a hamster.

Just because I don’t run, it doesn’t have to be the end-all-be-all.
I’m not going to run today, big deal, right? I have to remind myself that.
Instead, I’m going to hide away from the cold, do another Jillian Michaels DVD (lots of plyometrics, which I love)
and after class today, I’m going to lift shoulders and do abs since I nixed those yesterday.

I have to start being on my own team.
Instead of ruining things for myself by eating an entire bag of popcorn (sorry, but sometimes the bottle of wine is just plain necessary. However, the popcorn is not) I have to keep focus on what I want and how I’m going to get there.

I had three goals lined out for the rest of the year broken down like this:
Thanksgiving
Christmas
Europe

Thanksgiving is a week away, and I’m not feeling nearly as good as I did before I left for Vegas.
I need to work hard and stay focused and although I may not LOOK how I want to by Thanksgiving, I can
stop sabotaging myself, and I can FEEL how I want to by then.

4 thoughts on “Re-focus

  1. “When I woke up at 8 for class, I felt like an ass clown for skipping my run.”

    I’m going to use that “ass clown” line. I never heard that before. It’s very funny.

    Also, I skipped my run the last two days because it’s just too busy! This always happens in November, even though I swore it wouldn’t happen this time!

Conversate! =)

