Tabata Intervals

Good thing I ran on the treadmill yesterday instead of leaving it today to run outside- it is GROSS out! Cold and rainy. No fun.
It had been so long since my last run, probably the longest hiatus I had ever taken from running since I started running a year ago (even when I was sick with fevers and strep and bronchitis, you name it- I ran). And you know what? It felt good. I started out with 3 rounds of 4 minute Tabata intervals.
Don’t know what Tabata intervals are?
Click here.
I then finished the rest of my run at a steady pace til I got to 3.1 miles and called it a day.
I’m not sure if I buy into all of the “extra fat loss” mumbo-jumbo. But what I do know is that it makes me sweat and want to puke in the best way possible.
Losing weight, in the end, is all about burning calories- and where those calories are coming from (ie: Fats, carbs, or protein) is really insignificant. Thank you, Bioenergetics & Bo Fernhall (as much as I hated that man and that class, I learned a bunch.)

It’s not recommended to do High Intensity workouts two days in a row, so I think I’m just going to do the Jillian Michael’s DVD today or go for a steady-state run on the treadmill for a few miles.

In an attempt to get my act together with my food, I decided to really keep track of what I ate yesterday.
It looks like a lot, but I typed it into Sparkpeople.com and it wasn’t all that outrageous. I’m going to start logging most of my food on here, but I’ll give you all forewarning so as to not bore you with my mundane meals. If you want to skip it- go ahead. Feel free to bore yourself if you’d like =)
Breakfast: 2 blueberry pancakes + syrup
Lunch + random snackage: 2 slices hard salami, 1 slice munster cheese
Salad with romaine lettuce, tomatoes, cucumbers + ranch dressing + sriracha <— sooo good!
Snack #2: 1 C lentils
Snack # 3: apple + PB
Dinner: 1/4 avacado, sweet potato, Spanish rice, peas
Tootsie Roll <— so random. 
After adding it all up, it was between 1,500-1,700 give or take because the site kind of has its own moderations.
This is not including my workout, and I usually aim to eat between 1,500-1,700 a day anyway. 1,700 on the days I lift, etc.
I wasn’t starving to death at any point yesterday, but I probably could have done without the extra scoop of PB on my apple. Other than that, I think I’m good. I feel better after writing it all down and seeing what I ate, I feel less out of control. I have a tendency to be mindless about what I eat, and that’s usually how I end up with an empty family-sized bag of chips.

I came across this article today and found it interesting.
It’s about the weird eating habits of Americans. Click here. 

I also came across this blog challenge.
I’ll give it a whirl for as long as I can keep up. =)

Have you ever tried Tabata intervals? Did it make you want to throw up in a good way? =)

One thought on “Tabata Intervals

Conversate! =)

