Read Your Labels (Or, Holy Shit- what have I been buying all these years!?)

In my last post, I said I was going to go to do some serious cosmetic homework.
Google directed me to the PETA website which had an overwhelming amount of information about ethical cosmetic products which pretty much told me:
“YOU SUCK AND EVERYTHING YOU HAVE EVER PUT ON YOUR FACE HAS BEEN TESTED ON A POOR, SWEET, INNOCENT LITTLE ANIMAL JUST SO YOU CAN COVER YOUR FACE WITH SHIT AND TRY TO LOOK PRETTIER!”

But seriously. I mean, I’m not very girly, so I buy my makeup from Target. I guess that’s a bad idea, because a) Target is not a cosmetic store and b) they sell close to ZERO of the animal friendly products that PETA told me about.
Sweet.

After educating myself, I went to Target to see if I could swap some of my most-used products (bronzer/blush stuff, eye shadow, & mascara) for animal friendly ones, and had zero luck. I guess I have to go somewhere real for makeup stuff like Ulta or Sephora. I think I’ve been in Sephora zero times, and I’ve been in Ulta like twice. (They don’t sell running clothes or shoes which is why you can’t find me in there on a regular basis.)

And then Rahel from Kosmos 9   commented on that post and left the link to a post from her own blog.
CLICK HERE
T
he information on that post blew my mind. I mean, I know that I’ve only been a “vegetarian” for not even two months, but I didn’t even know some of those labels existed. I figured coffee was coffee and how can that harm an animal? How naive of me! I drink coffee like none other in the mornings. I prepare it the night before so that I can just hit the button in the morning, wait for it to brew, drink cups and cups, and then finally feel like a human being once the caffeine is flowing freely through my veins.  I also buy Foldgers. Which doesn’t have any sort of label. Crap.

I mean, I’m not going to throw out my full container of coffee. Buying that and then literally throwing it away seems counterproductive anyway.

Although I feel absolutely overloaded with all of this new knowledge, I also feel empowered. Knowledge is power, right?
I can’t return the things that I bought, but I can make better, more-informed decisions the next time I do buy.

I really do feel compelled to be mindful of the purchases that I make, and it has absolutely nothing to do with the fact that I have chosen to stop eating meat. Whether you want to believe it or not, we’re in a very “consumerist economy” right now regardless of what our actual economy looks like from the Dow Jones.

I have a friend who refuses to wash dishes and just buys paper plates…
I’m sorry, what?

Every day, I’m learning that I need to accept that not everyone has struggled with money and not having a filthy-rich family. All of my life, both of my parents have worked full time jobs, and now, my mom works two- just to keep our head afloat and just so that my sister and I can go to school (and pay back our loans which is going to start for me far sooner than I would like…yikes!). We’ve never had a dish washer, and we sure as hell didn’t have the luxury (ignorance?) to buy paper plates and just literally throw that kind of money away… My point is that THAT is what consumerism is all about. Every time you buy those paper plates, every week or whatever, aside from the fact that you’re creating unnecessary waste, you’re also creating a DEMAND for that product. In which case, the factory needs to put more people to work, create more pollution to actually produce the product, employ more people to box the product, put it on a truck, and create more air pollution to ship it to your store. Then you buy it, and it goes on and on and on.

I know, I KNOW. I sound like a huge tree-huggin’ hippie right now. But you know what? I don’t care. This stuff is really important. So many people are oblivious to the severe impacts that we humans have on this earth, and it’s sad, sad, sad. I wish I had a bigger platform to kind of try to pry some people’s heads out of their own asses so they can see what’s really going on…

 

Sorry this post turned into a rant about the environment. Actually, Sorry I’m not sorry.
I’ll be back soon with my continued obsession with running and lifting…

On an upbeat note, Stephen and I ran a 10K on Sunday. =)
Update coming soon!

I look Psychotic, I know.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Read Your Labels (Or, Holy Shit- what have I been buying all these years!?)

  1. Amazing post!! I wish more people would do what you are doing: getting into actually thinking about all these things, keep it up 🙂 It’s not too bad to be a treehugger 😀

  2. That wasn’t a complaint. I was not complaining that my parents are busting their asses, as well as myself, so that I can get through school. My education is my most prized possession, and always will be. We’ve always washed our own dishes, like people all around the world, who do not have the means to continue to purchase disposable plates, which, in the long run, is far more expensive (and wasteful) compared to just using reusable plates, or reusable anything- same goes for water bottles, plastic containers for left overs, etc. You also have to consider the conditions in which factory workers are working in. Both sets of my grandparents worked in factories..were they happy to have some money, yes. Did they all quit and found some other bottom-notch jobs to escape the near-abuse and borderline slave labor they were attending to? Absolutely. Perhaps I worded it incorrectly, for that I apologize. Thanks for stopping by 🙂

Conversate! =)

