Whey-ing My Protein Options (Ha!)

I wrote this post last week and forgot to post it- woops- so here it is:

Intuitively, I am doubting my RMR. I don’t know why, but I just feel like something went wrong.

I know, SHUT UP ABOUT MY FUCKING RMR ALREADY. But no.
 How am I burning almost double the amount of a 6 food +” adult male?  I just don’t get it.
 Although the calculation based on height and weight found online says my RMR is about 1,350 is not all that accurate for the same reasons why BMI is a piece of garbage too- it doesn’t know WHY you weight what you weigh, it doesn’t take into account your Fat Free Mass/Muscle Mass, so it’s junk. But I somehow still doubt that mine is 2,400!!!!

I tried to figure out what could have gone wrong. Did I eat when I wasn’t supposed to? No.
Did I exercise 24 hours prior? No. But maybe I cut it close with 27 hours? No. Because I ran sprints which only elevates your RMR by about 50cal for only about 24 hours after the event. So definitely no. I did have a beer the night before, but alcohol LOWERS your RMR, so if anything- mine COULD be higher.

The definition of being insane is doing the same thing over and over and over again, expecting to get different results.

Call me insane, but I’ve never been able to lose weight. Seriously, I’m either just meant to be a little pudge-ball for the rest of my life or I’m doing the same shit over and over and over again, expecting to get different results. I’ve never tried EATING MORE IN ORDER TO LOSE WEIGHT. So maybe, maybe it’s worth giving a shot- but based on common sense, and my intuition, part of me just wants to restricts calories. Then the other half of me knows my activity level, knows what you need to do in order to build muscle, and then I know that slashing calories is not going to be smart.

I need to focus on WHAT I’m eating, WHEN I’m eating it, AND HOW MUCH OF IT I’M EATING.

After keeping track of my food via Sparkpeople.com for the past few days, I definitely know that I am eating too much fat and probably too many carbohydrates. HOWEVER, I can’t start cutting carbs A FEW DAYS BEFORE A HALF MARATHON!!! (sorry I keep yelling.. I’m in a yelling mood today. Blame it on my hormones) but it’s not going to be that far from my mind once this god-foresaken race is over with. But DUH, that’s why runners CARBO-LOAD because maybe just because you’re TRAINING doesn’t mean to stuff your face with all-things-carbs. On the other hand, a lot of my carbs are complex carbs coming from fruits and veggies, and I’m definitely not going to start cutting those out….

As much as I think I know, I don’t know anything at all. The human body is a tricky little bitch sometimes- and what works for everyone may not work FOR YOU. Or me, in this case. I’m still trying to figure out what works best with my body. I do a terrible job of taking notes about what I eat and HOW it makes me feel- but that’s what I need to start doing. Some people do great with high-carb, low-protein diets- unfortunately, I just don’t think that’s how I work. I’m still trying to figure out HOW I DO WORK BEST. Because right now I have no idea.

A lot of the reason why I know I need more protein is because I stopped eating meat back in December. It’s been 4 months since I’ve eaten any, and to be honest- I feel fine. I know some people say “OMG!! I FEEL SO LIGHT! AND GREAT! AND NEW!! SINCE I STOPPED EATING MEAT!” I don’t feel a huge difference at all. I just don’t like the concept of eating meat, and for that reason, I will continue to not eat it (regardless of the fact that sometimes, just sometimes, I have vivid dreams about eating it and liking it. but that’s neither here nor there.)

Recently, I’ve been more in-tune with how my body reacts to Dairy, and it’s not all that good. I know I need to cut it out for about two weeks or so, BUT I CAN’T STOP EATING STRING CHEESE, although I gave up Greek Yogurt and Cottage Cheese. I’m pretty sure, in trace amounts, I can handle dairy in that I don’t think my stomach is going to bubble over, but I think it bloats me. I haven’t had any dairy yet today, so I’ll try and keep this up over the weekend!! Maybe I’ll be less bloated and will have solved problem number one.

Problem #2 is PROTEIN in which it’s hard for me to pack it in since I no longer eat meat. For the record, I have been eating fish- which I guess is considered meat. But fish works for me and I feel okay (physically and ethically) eating it. I don’t eat fish every day- though maybe I probably should in order to get my protein up there.

My point is- SOMETHING needs to change.

Maybe it’s less carbs, less fat and more protein.

Who knows.. but for now, I think that’s what I’m going to roll with and see how my body reacts and feels. I’m going to continue meticulously tracking my calories and see what range my body feels/works best in. Also, with sparkpeople.com, it breaks down the macronutrients, which makes it quick and easy to see if and when I go over or under for my carb, protein, and fat intake.

———-

According to that bodybuilding.com article that I wrote about a few weeks ago, every meal should have:
-lean protein
-Fibrous Carbs (Fruits &/or vegetables)
-Starchy Carb (Sweet potato, brown rice, oatmeal)
-healthy fats (MUFA, PUFA, Omega-3s, Avocado, nuts, olive oil, etc)

I then did some more reading about how much protein you should be getting. Pretty much, there is still a huge debacle over all of this, and it’s anywhere between .6 & 1.7/8 grams of protein per Killogram of your body weight. This leaves me, or anyone really, with a huge gap in the exact amount of protein you should be getting. I’m going to err on the safe side, and go for something right in the middle- probably aim to be getting about 150-200g per day.

Something else about protein that I need to keep in mind is that not all protein is created equal. Lean protein is the BEST, which is found in animal products- which means that beans, and nut butters, and all that jazz that I usually stuff my face with isn’t a complete protein. It’s better than nothing, YES, but still subpar.

This is where things are going to get sticky for me. Whey protein has a lot of pros as well as cons. As a “non-meat-eater” the ethical lines get very blurry. Whey comes from animal protein- it’s pretty much the best protein you can get without eating a chunk of meat. But since I don’t eat meat for ethical reasons- using Whey protein pretty much makes my argument null and void. However, I did not become vegan, and therefore still eat cheeses and such- so technically, Whey protein is not that much different.

The other part that’s sticky is that I want to really figure out my body’s reaction to lactose/dairy. I need to do further research on the actual lactose/dairy contents in Whey to see if it would be harming me in the long run.*
I do know that there are vegan options- but rumor has it they taste like crap and they aren’t as high in protein.

Whey may be my best option since I am lacking animal protein in my diet. I need to do what WORKS BEST FOR ME, and since I’m not VEGAN, Whey may be the whey to go. (ha!)

*Did some research and I guess a lot of Whey proteins don’t have a high content of lactose, and some claim to have no lactose at all. I’ll have to start narrowing down my options then and go from there. The tubs are always so big- we’re talking about 1 gallon for the most part- so it’s a lot of powder to buy if I end up not liking it/getting sick from it.

In case you didn’t see it- Yessenia (the blog master herself) added a button (I think that’s what they’re called?) to follow me on my personal Twitter! If you haven’t done so already- get on that! 

Also- does anyone know how to add pages to the top of a blog? Pages as in- addition blog-type things? I would like to have separate pages for different types of posts, like this one would be under a “health” tab (for example) and a different one about my life, for example, under a different tab– anyone? Bueller?  

4 thoughts on “Whey-ing My Protein Options (Ha!)

  1. Just to inform you I got a Dummies Handbook on HTML & CSS from the Champiagn Public Library (to brush up and gain new skills)… I meant to tell you this in class. Soon, I’ll be equipped re-design this and any web-page you ever want.

    • Awesome! You’ll have to design my gym’s webpage sometime in the future 🙂 If I knew what I wanted was called, I’d look it up- I just don’t even know what that’s called. I’ll leave the master-blogging to you 😉

  2. Love the (really bad) pun in your title… awesome… As far as whey goes, I have no ethical issues surrounding it, but have found that some tasts ok while other tastes terrible. When you are deciding, try to find any reviews on the taste, because some is just inedible.

    You might also try Shakeology. The strawberry flavor is vegan and contains protein. http://www.coachcrystalfitness.com

Conversate! =)

