FitFluential

“A growing family of fitness fanatics spreading a positive, healthy message year-round. FitFluential is Fitness Found.”

I recently became a FitFluential Ambassador– which pretty much only means that I get to use the FitFluential hashtag on Twitter and call myself a FitFluential Ambassador. But, almost as if the universe registered me as FitFluential, these things have happened since I applied:

-I registered for the Dirty Girl Mud Run– which happens to be a client of FitFluential’s, which is awesome for a lot of reasons. Kelly Olexa is the CEO and founder of FitFluential and I happen to be obsessed with Kelly.

-Upon registering for the Dirty Girl Mud Run, I have managed to influence a few people, near and dear to my heart, to sign up for it as well. Megan, my better-half best-friend, signed up for it and it is her first race! She played soccer and ran cross country in high school but I don’t think she was ever bitten by the running bug.

That saying “you can lead a horse to water but you can’t make it drink” is especially true when it comes to fitness. Megan knew that I fell in love with running but I never forced it upon her. I asked her a few times to come on runs with me- short and slow ones- but it never happened. When I asked to run this with me, she said yes! I think it was due to the fact that it’s an all-girl run, with no timing pressure, and nothing but the promise of mud and fun, but hey- whatever works.

I also got my cousin to sign up with me (who started running a few months ago after hearing about how much that I love running!) which is also really exciting!! She’s ran in a few races, but I’m so excited to share a course with her for the first time! Megan’s cousin Carrie also registered. I think this might be her first race as well? But she’s been venturing out on morning runs for quite a while now, and we always talk about meeting up for a run. I’m excited to share the course with her too!! Megan’s friend Amanda and her family have also registered for this race and we’re ready for some friendly competition (although team Agony of De Feet is totally going to kick butt!).

I haven’t gone up to any of them and said:
I’M SO GLAD THAT I GOT YOU ALL TO REGISTER FOR THIS RACE! because that’s not necessary. I lead them to the water, and they all decided to take a drink 🙂 For that, I am proud. I am proud of myself for being able to influence people in a healthy, positive way. But I am so proud of them for doing it for themselves! I can only hope that they all have a great time: a great time training and a great time racing. I hope that from that day forward, the rest is history and they will register for races to come. And if not, I hope they find confidence within themselves to continue to run for fun and better themselves in so many ways along the way.

Want to know who else I’m excited for!? Dan over at Budget Cooking.
Dan always leaves me the most positive comments over here and his posts always make me drool! He recently commented saying he was inspired to train for a Half Marathon. Whether or not he was actually inspired by my posts or not doesn’t really matter- and that’s the point. If all I ever do for the rest of my life is get people to see greatness within themselves- for whatever the case may be- running, learning, loving,WHATEVER, then I will consider myself to be a success.

I can’t wait to follow everyone on their journeys.
Megan has started sending me text messages about her training runs thus far and I think I’m just as excited, if not more excited, to receive the play-by-plays of her runs than she is to actually be doing them. I can’t wait to get home and run with her- I don’t care how far or how fast we run, I just want to be a part of her journey. And I can’t wait for June 30th to be a part of her first race!

I can’t wait for Dan to keep me posted (hint, hint!) about his training and journey to a Half Marathon. Maybe I’ll even be able to talk him into doing a guest post over here 🙂

I think it works in circular form, inspiration and success. Because I find myself to be inspired by these people. Writing about two simple stories that aren’t even in full-swing yet inspires me to want to better myself. If I continue to better myself as a runner, as a teacher, as a learner, as a lover, maybe I can continue to inspire others who can in turn continue to inspire me. I think I just found the formula for perpetual motion.

And that, my friends, is why I’m a FitFluential Ambassador.
I also think I just redefined what I wish for this blog to become:  I want this blog to be a comfort zone for people to celebrate their successes and journeys and lives with me and others in the blogging community. Whether your blog is about food, or babies, or fashion, or running, I want this blog to turn into the safe-place for people to gain inspiration, share it, grow from it- and contribute to the perpetual motion of it all. 

Happy Running 🙂

One thought on “FitFluential

  1. Thanks for the kind words. I have to say your blog is one of the ones I most look forward to reading.

    I will absolutely keep you updated on my half marathon training! Just waiting for the weather to clear a little then it’s off for my long run of the week (very short, as I’m just starting out).

    Congratulations on your ambassadorship!

Conversate! =)

