Celebratory Pedicures

Today started out just as I had planned- a sweaty, awesome workout with Katie.
We hit up the treadmills for 20minutes of HIIT that I kind of made up as I went along.
For me, doing Tabata on the treadmill is a pain in the ass because of how often you need to change the speed… so I just kind of did HIIT as I saw and felt fit for today. I increased my speed by .5mph every 30 seconds until I was going balls-to-the-wall as fast as I could- held it for 30 seconds, and brought it back down to a medium jog, and repeated for 20 min. For the first time ever, I got to 8.0 on the treadmill. Laugh all you want, but this is the fastest I’ve ever gone on the treadmill! I did 8.0 twice for a total of 1 minute! Little victories πŸ™‚

We then did legs, triceps, and abs in circuit fashion. We did some weighted squats, tricep kickbacks, skullcrushers, jumping squats, jumping lunges, lots of planks, mountain climbers, and all that good stuff. I’ve been ridiculously hungry all day long (more so than usual because I’m usually hungry nonstop) so I feel like my workout was pretty effective πŸ™‚

Then it was off to a meeting with my advisor. We met over coffee and talked about life, and then he informed me that he used to run two marathons a year when he lived in Puerto Rico and won- as in, he placed first- every. single. time.
How awesome is that!? I’ve been to Puerto Rico, and not only is it HOT all of the time there (my dad grew up there and one time his shoes melted to the pavement- that’s how hot it was) but it’s MOUNTAINOUS. My advisor explained it as: “the hills are so steep that the road comes up to meet you right in front of your face.” Awesome.

Yessenia and I then headed to the arboretum to take pictures for the blog! We’re in the middle (by we’re, I mean Yessenia) of working out a revamp of sorts and I’m so excited! Any and all future visual-awesomeness that takes place on this blog is totally kudos to her. I gave her chocolate chip cookies tonight to return the favor πŸ˜‰

After the blog pictures, we headed to get our celebratory pedicures!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The service was a little… lacking, but I’m not here to give the salon a review- I just don’t think I would request the same lady I had if I had a choice.. All of my blisters are still intact, as well as gross and disgusting dead skin on my feet (you are welcome for the visual!) so I’m not sure I got a pedicure so much as I’m sure that I paid $25 for someone to rub lotion on my feet, but there were hot stones and a chair massage involved at one point and my toes are BLUE so I’m not complaining. Mayra’s toenail polish is called: TEAL THE COWS COME HOME! and I love cows so that was random and awesome.

We then headed to 7 Saints for dinner in downtown Champaign. Delicious- as always.

Then, somehow, Yessenia came over to my apartment to pick up her stuff which turned into more photoshoots (we emptied out my fridge at one point), cookie eating, and blog revamp stuff, which, inevitably, turned into an hour(s) long conversation about at this point- I don’t even know how to categorize.

The moral of the story is this:
I have a lot of ‘soul searching’ to do- I’m pretty sure that’ll be the theme of my ‘other blog’ that I keep telling you all I’m going to start but haven’t gotten around to. I know a little about a lot of things, and some things I know a lot about, but I fail to ask myself important questions about things that matter & that bothers me. I know few things about myself and it’s stuff that doesn’t even really matter: I like to eat vegetables, I like to run and sweat, I love Michael Jordan & my dog Bowzer… but woopdiedoo, right!? I have no idea who I am as a person- but see? I’ll save this for “the other blog.”

Other moral of the story?
I love me some Carreras ❀

Tomorrow, I have two conference calls with my job. I always want to call it “my company” but it’s not MY company, so I never really know what to call it. I’ll let you all know when I do have MY OWN company though πŸ™‚ soon enough, my friends, soon enough.
Then I plan to get in another awesome workout and start packing for the big move back home!
Yikes. Wish me luck.

 

Also, from the depths of my camera:

After the 7K back in March

AND! Finally!

My poor DSLR camera is failing- slowly but surely, because it really wasn’t that bright out that day and this picture needs some editing, but the light meter is going down the pooper 😦 anyway, this is one of the only pictures from the Half Marathon! None were captured from the professionals that day- not one- but my dad was awesome enough to snap a few after the finish.

 

And, since I mentioned his name, the light of my life himself, Bowzer:
Like Mommy like puppy! He seriously loves the treadmill. Once it starts moving though, he’s out!
And I feel bad, because this poor guy never gets the limelight, but here is Charlie, the other pain in my ass light of my life


I’m excited to get home to be able to see these two faces whenever I want!

Β Any other crazy dog people out there, or just me? If I love my children as much as I love these guys, we’ll be in good shape πŸ˜‰

Conversate! =)

